The mexican food challenge: andale!


Who knows me knows as well that I have some crush on whatever is mexican: food, music, traditions …

Some weeks ago I was then invited to a mexican cooking class in the Waitrose cookery school: Mexican food, the cookery school I wanted to visit since ages… That was an appointment I couldn’t miss!

Gently offered by Discovery ( the brand of mexican products) and by Benito’s Hat a little Mexican chain in London, I had one of the most funniest nights in months. They welcome us with an amazing margarita cocktail and then the chef teach us 2 nice mexican dishes, tasty but also easy to prepare and that I can’t wait to cook them again!

The first was Jicama salad, a fresh starter made off cocumber, lime lemons, peanuts, parmesan cheese and this Jicama, a vegetable similar to a potato. The recipe is something to surprise anyone. The second dish was  king prawns tacos with a spicy sauce made with Discovery Chipotle Paste, that was just gorgeous and that solves lots of my problem with mexican food.

Do you know what happened next??? We had the chance to use the kitchen and have a little mexican cooking competition between bloggers: I loved it! I recreate the dishes plus some little variations. I made chicken, sesame and spinach tacos with the Discovery tortillas, and then prawn tortillas with the magic chipote sauce (1 little spoon of this and 2 big spoon of mayonnaise).

But the great thing was to use all that great kitchen stuff without thinking about washing or cleaning! It’s really a privilege and they have really everything! It was really a great experience! So thanks to Discovery, Benito’s Hat, the girls who invited me and Waitrose for the space!

Ps. of course I didn’t win the competition considering there were so many great food blogger, but here is my favourite recipe: Colin from Shizzling who cooked a fantastic green mole!

Leave a Reply

